Bryophyte and Fungi Surveys

Bryophytes are an informal group consisting of three divisions of non-vascular land plants: the liverworts, hornworts and mosses. They are characteristically limited in size and prefer moist habitats although they can survive in drier environments. 

There are a number of liverworts, hornworts, mosses, (Bryophytes) algae and fungi which are considered significant. Indeed there are some Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) and Special Areas of Conservation (SAC) which are listed to protect their Bryophyte and fungi interest. 

These sites can be subject to potential harm as a result of development, even if the development is not directly within the boundary of the protected sites. 




Chara canescens

Bearded Stonewort

Battarraea phalloides

Sandy Stilt-puffball

Adelanthus lindenbergianus

Lindenberg’s Leafy Liverwort

Lamprothamnium papulosum

Foxtail stonewort

Boletus regius

Royal Bolete

Geocalyx graveolens




Buglossoporus pulvinus

Oak Polypore

Gymnomitrion apiculatum

Pointed Frostwort



Hericinum erinaceum

Hedgehog Fungus

Jamesoniella undulifolia

Marsh Earwort





Jamesoniella undulifolia

Marsh Earwort





Lophozia (Leiocolea) rutheana

Norfolk Flapwort





Marsupella profunda

Western Rustwort





Petalophyllum ralfsii






Riccia bifurca

Lizard Crystalwort





Southbya nigrella